14th RMP Aria Competition Final Winners Announced

Online Event

Saturday 14 November 2020 at 7pm (virtual), Sunday 15 November at 2pm and 5pm 


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and Victorian Government health regulations, this year’s RMP Aria was filmed and was not able to involve a live audience. The event was streamed online by subscription and also featured a performance of Rutter’s Gloria by the RMP Oratorio Festival Choir and Orchestra from Deakin Edge, filmed in 2017.

Now firmly established as one of Australia’s most prestigious singing events, the RMP Aria is Australia’s pre-eminent competition for oratorio soloists. Previous winners now rank amongst the nation’s most successful concert artists, with many having gone on to spectacular international careers.

RMP Artistic Director Andrew Wailes announced the following results of the 2020 competition:

2020 Winners:

Winner, 14th RMP Aria Competition:
Andrew O’Connor, bass-baritone, 31
Born: Perth, Australia.   Resides: Waterloo, NSW

Joshua Oxley, tenor, 27
Born: London, UK.  Resides: Mulgrave, Vic

Third Prize:
Karina Bailey, soprano 28
Born: Adelaide, Australia.  Resides: Longwood, SA

Conductor’s Encouragement Award:
Amelia Jones, soprano, 27
Born: Bridgend, Wales.  Resides: Ascot Vale, Vic

Judges’ Commendation:
James Emerson, baritone, 23
Born: Melbourne, Australia.  Resides: Essendon, Vic

Raphael Wong, baritone, 31
Born: Melbourne, Australia.  Resides: Burwood, Vic

Louise Keast, soprano, 27
Born Sydney, Australia. Resides: Brunswick West, Vic

James Young, baritone, 27
Born: Melbourne, Australia. Resides: Herzogenaurach, Germany


2020 Reserve Finalists:

Hamish Gould, counter-tenor, 27
Born: London, UK.   Resides: Armadale, Vic

Jack Stephens, bass, 25
Born: Sydney, Australia.  Resides: Gordon, NSW


2020 Adjudication Panel:

Sally-Anne Russell
Andrew Raiskums
Stefan Cassomenos
Andrew Wailes (chair)

A review of the event by Classic Melbourne can be found HERE: