RMP is pleased to announce the soon-to-be release of a series of recordings and filmed concerts which will be available to purchase on CD and DVD in the near future. With the support of a City of Melbourne COVID-19 Arts Grant and several generous donors, these high quality digital recordings and videos will be available for online purchase in November, and will be posted out to patrons as soon as they are available.

  • CD: VERDI: MESSA DA REQUIEM  (sold out)
  • CD: HAYDN: The Creation (limited stock left)
  • CD: A RUSSIAN SPECTACULAR (Prokofiev, Mussorgsky, Shostakovich, Borodin) Just released
  • CD: THE MUSICMAKERS (Elgar), TOWARD THE UNKNOWN REGION (Vaughan Williams) (limited stock left)
  • DVD: MESSA DA REQUIEM (Verdi)  filmed in Hamer Hall
  • DVD: A SEA SYMPHONY  (Vaughan Williams) / FOUR SEA INTERLUDES (Britten) filmed in Hamer Hall
  • DVD: MOZART ‘Clarinet Concerto’ and ‘Great Mass in C minor’ filmed in St Paul’s Cathedral
  • DVD: SUNRISE SUNSET (Gjeilo’s ‘Sunrise Mass’ and Faure’s ‘Requiem’) filmed in St Paul’s Cathedral
  • DVD: VIVALDI The Music of the Red Priest filmed in Deakin Edge
  • DVD: MESSIAH (Handel) filmed in Melbourne Town Hall (available DECEMBER)
  • DVD: CAROLS IN THE CATHEDRAL filmed in St Paul’s Cathedral (available DECEMBER)

To order, visit:

The production of these recordings have been supported by a City of Melbourne COVID-19 Arts Grant




PROKOFIEV: Alexander Nevsky Op. 78
SHOSTAKOVICH: Festive Overture in A Major Op.96
BORODIN: Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor
MUSSORGSKY: Dawn over the Moscow River

This magnificent digital recording conducted by RMP Chief Conductor Andrew Wailes features Prokofiev’s powerful cantata ‘Alexander Nevsky’, one of the most renowned cantatas of the 20th century. Also a spirited performance of Borodin’s famous ‘Polovtsian Dances’ from the opera ‘Prince Igor’, Mussorgsky’s haunting ‘Dawn on the Moscow River’ (Prelude to the opera ‘Khovantschina’), and Shostakovich’s dynamic ‘Festive Overture’ in A major, Op. 96, written to commemorate the 37th anniversary of the October Revolution. A passionate massed choir of over 200 voices, complimented by almost 100 orchestral musicians of the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Orchestra with members of Melbourne Youth Orchestra makes this a sumptuous sonic experience. A spectacular live recording from Melbourne Town Hall. Includes 20 page CD booklet, including artist biographies, photographs and complete list of performers.

“The highlight of the program was Prokofiev’s great cantata, Alexander Nevsky. After hearing this wonderful performance I have to wonder why it is not heard more often.  However, its massive concept and complexity could only be tackled by a few choirs in this country – and they would need the support of a great orchestra.  On this occasion both factors were present plus, in Wailes, a conductor who could hold it all together. . The choir impressed with the rounded sound needed for Russian music, and singing that was harmonious and full… . I could not imagine a better performance – even in Russia!” –   (Prokofiev’s Alexander Nevsky)  Arts Hub Review 2012

“The strong brass playing (a consistent feature throughout the performance) led an impressive opening to the Shostakovich, with Wailes directing a sound that was both spirited and satisfyingly ‘big’ – no mean feat. The Mussorgsky, a gentle contrast, was well articulated with strings and winds to the fore, with some fine individual playing… It was easy to picture the sunrise, to appreciate the strings’ counterpoint to the winds’ melody and to be captivated by the ending of the work. Wailes conducted economically but effectively, with an obvious confidence in his well-rehearsed orchestra.” – Classic Melbourne (Shostakovich, Mussorgsky, Borodin, Prokofiev, 2012)



ELGAR: The Music Makers
ELGAR: Sea Pictures Op.37
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: Toward the Unknown Region


This high quality digital recording of the RMP’s thrilling live performance in the Melbourne Town Hall on 25 May 2014 features the magnificent voice of Liane Keegan, one of Australia’s great contralto voices, along with the combined 200 voice Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Choir and Melbourne University Choral Society choirs, and the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic  Orchestra, conducted by Andrew Wailes.

Experience the atmosphere and tension of a live performance of three magnificent English masterpieces. Includes 20 page CD booklet, including artist biographies, photographs and complete list of performers.

“There was also a noticeable balance between choir and orchestra for Vaughan Williams’ setting of Walt Whitman’s poems. Dramatic drum rolls, clean attack from the brass and waves of choral sound, plus some really lovely playing from the front desks of the strings, conjured up the same sense of exaltation as much of Elgar’s music. The bursting forth of glorious melody underpinned by the Town Hall organ made for a thrilling experience that was greeted with cheers from the audience at the end of the work.” (Vaughan Williams Toward the Unknown Region) Heather Leviston, Classic Melbourne, 2014

“With an emphasis on the lower strings and harps and resonant brass in most pleasing combinations, the “movers and shakers” and “dreamers of dreams” wove their spell to create a series of climaxes that tested the endurance of all performers. For sheer stamina they could not be faulted, especially the unflagging soprano line. After all the sound and fury with its cataclysmic outbursts, the final hushed bars maintained their intensity right to the very end in a gorgeous, gentle blend that faded away, leaving an appreciative audience thoroughly satisfied.” – (Elgar’s The Musicmakers) Heather Leviston, Classic Melbourne, 2014


VERDI  BOOKLET 16 pp_HAYDN BOOKLET 12pp.qxd FINAL Tray artwork_Layout 1


This high quality digital recording of the RMP’s thrilling live performance in the Melbourne Town Hall on 2 October, 2010 features a stellar quartet of soloists (Rosamund Illing, Fiona Janes, Patrick Power, Joshua Bloom), along with the combined 250 voice Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Choir and  Melbourne University Choral Society choirs, and the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Andrew Wailes.

“From the hushed opening phrases and passionate fortissimo outbursts of the impeccably prepared chorus, to the scintillating playing of the RMP orchestra, and the gloriously controlled singing of four superb soloists, this performance of Verdi’s great Requiem did not disappoint. Conductor Andrew Wailes infused Verdi’s already dramatic score with an unwaivering energy and sense of gravitas, marshalling his large forces to produce a memorable and thrilling performance which at times rocked the very foundations of the packed Town Hall.”

Enjoy the electric tension of a thrilling live performance of one of the most dramatic and powerful of all choral masterpieces. Includes 16 page CD booklet, including artist biographies, photographs and complete list of performers.